My morning routine consists of checking my yahoo mail, posting on my facebook page, taking the daily quiz from blogthings and reviewing the fashionable lifestyle on this site.  For this month, I’ve seen the campaign ads for the fall 2010 season of various fashion monuments. The following are my personal observations:

Balenciaga

The red theme and sepia tinge makes the overall look quite attractive yet ethereal at the same time. The disheveled look complements the color theme but the clothes seem to stick out like a sore thumb. A classic example of clothes wearing the person and not vice-versa. Is the concept “Fashion in Mars”? That’s the overall projection I’m sensing. I was never a fan of clunky heels and this campaign convinces me to maintain my stance.

Calvin Klein

I’ve seen plenty of CK ads and they’re known for the black and white look. It’s the signature, the trademark. But am thinking, trademark is the new dull. The ala Kate Moss look does nothing to spruce up the campaign. Blah.

Chanel

I like this ad – it’s a jazzed up look that moment when Holly Golightly, in her downtime clothes, sings “Moon River.” The placement of “Chanel” on the railing does not jump out but is cleverly eased into the picture. I like the style of the shadow as it adds character to the whole portrait. The question is, what does the ad say about the label? That it’s into the downtown scene? That side stairs are the new platform? That bricks are back? What’s the statement here?

Escada

Milla Jovovich looks stunningly fierce here. I like the audition concept here (complete with casting couch). Or is it rehearsal time? The concept is such a tease – as campaign ads should be. The clothes seem tailor-made for her and they fall on her as effortlessly as butter melts onto ciabatta bread. I like the way textures are played up here, from the clothes to the set up.

Fendi

Sleek surfaces, sleek hair and sleek colors. Properly styled and the furnishing used speak of a story (party espionage, partly a glamorized Jen Aniston’s “The Good Girl”). But overall, I find the campaign rather run-in-the-mill. Like, “Get the blond with shoulder-length hair. Get Fendi’s latest. Get the mirror for the background.”

Hermes

This I found rather stunning. It takes one masculinized model and a backdrop straight out from Guy Ritchie’s “Sherlock Holmes” to lend this fashion house some testosterone. Actually, I felt it reflects the straight lines and no-nonsense designs of Hermes. This is my favorite ad campaign.

Miu Miu

Prada’s little sister knows its target market rather well: the young and the cliquish. I like the colors, the textures and the metallic tinge used in this campaign. The yellows, blues and green eye shadows make for this colorful display. It is playfully neat and teasingly preppy.

Prada

Obviously edgier and more street smart than little Miu Miu. Prada mixed various textures and prints to achieve this rocker/ house party look.Rather, naughty, partner-swapping house party look may I just say. This campaign exudes illicit affairs almost wanting to be discovered.

Am still a sucker for Miu Miu’s matelasse bags.

Valentino

This black-and-white ad has more edge than Calvin Klein’s campaign. I like the stark contrast of a weed-thin nude model and the embellishment of a British drawing room. It exudes sex but in a very restrained, stiff-upper lip sort of way. It’s very Kate Moss of the early ’90’s, the epitome of heroin chic. My last comment is, does the ad feature a before-and-after sort of theme? Like, while wearing Valentino’s sedate designs you will party hard then end up naked and wasted at a glamorous locale?

Versace

It’s prolly because I started with Calvin Klein’s black-and-white blah campaign but Versace’s ads focus more on the models and the clothes. They speak attitude and appeal while complementing the background. The ads also seem to condone same-sex relationships, which adds to the racy, edgy feel of the campaign.

So to rank accordingly – I’d give Hermes props for their campaign, followed by Escada with Miu Miu and Prada tied at third. Then I’d give it to Versace, Valentino, Balenciaga, Chanel, Fendi and… quite poorly, Calvin Klein.

